Aqua Voice Review: Pricing, Accuracy and Alternatives

Sarah Johnson
Writes about field sales, meeting notes and voice-first workflows at ParrotNotes. Every article is reviewed by the ParrotNotes product team before it goes live.

Table of Contents
- 1.Aqua Voice review in short
- 2.What is Aqua Voice?
- 3.Aqua Voice accuracy: who said what
- 4.Aqua Voice pricing
- 5.Aqua Voice privacy and compliance
- 6.A 1,000-word test plan for Aqua Voice
- 7.Aqua Voice vs Wispr Flow
- 8.Aqua Voice alternatives
- 9.Where Aqua Voice beats ParrotNotes, and where it doesn't
- 10.Aqua Voice review verdict
"97.4% accurate" is the number most people remember after reading about Aqua Voice. It's a real result. It also measures something narrower than it sounds: whether one key term in a clip came out right, on a test Aqua built itself.
Owen is a backend developer who talks to Claude Code all day, and he says things like "kubectl" and "git checkout." Nadia sells commercial flooring from her van, and her hard part is remembering what a site manager told her an hour ago. Both searched for the same app this week. (Owen and Nadia are composites, not real people.)
This Aqua Voice review covers what the dictation app does on each device, what each accuracy claim measures and who made it, what the plans cost, and where it beats our own app. It ends with a way to spend the free words on a fair test of your own voice.
Every Aqua fact below comes from Aqua's own pages, read on November 2, 2026, unless another source is named. We didn't run a hands-on test, so this review reports no test result of ours.
One disclosure: ParrotNotes publishes this blog, and ParrotNotes is our app. It appears near the end for readers like Nadia, who need a conversation turned into a note. If that's you, try ParrotNotes free and come back for the Aqua facts.
Aqua Voice review in short
Aqua Voice fits you if you type all day at a computer and use technical words that ordinary dictation mangles. Developers and heavy AI users are who Aqua's evidence speaks to most directly, and it's cheaper than Wispr Flow's matching plan.
Look elsewhere if you must work offline, want a free plan you can keep using, or need a spoken conversation turned into a summary and action items rather than text in a box.
| Aqua Voice as of November 2026 | |
|---|---|
| What it is | Voice dictation that types into your other apps |
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android |
| Free plan | 1,000 words in total, no card |
| Pro | $10 a month billed annually, or $12 month to month |
| Languages | 49, by Aqua's count |
| Offline | No, per Aqua's Mac page |
What is Aqua Voice?
Aqua Voice is an AI dictation app from Aqua Voice, Inc. You hold a key or tap a button, speak, and clean text lands where your cursor is. Its old address, withaqua.com, now redirects to aquavoice.com. The speech model is Aqua's own, called Avalon, and it runs in the cloud.
The difference from your keyboard's microphone is the layer around the model:
- Edit Mode: select text, say what should change, and Aqua rewrites it in place
- Deep Context: on Mac and Windows it "glances at your screen" so names and code come out spelled correctly, on every plan
- Dictionary and writing styles: teach it names and terms, and set rules such as lowercase in Slack
- Realtime Mode and "Send it": words appear as you speak, and a voice command sends the message, on the Max plan
- Developer tools: MCP and a CLI on every plan, plus an Avalon API at $0.39 per hour of audio
There's also Aqua Pet, a pet in the desktop app with accessories on paid plans.
How Aqua Voice works on each device
Aqua Voice isn't the same app everywhere. This table collects what Aqua's own pages say, as of November 2026.
| Mac | Windows | iPhone | Android | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How you dictate | Hold a key, in any app | Desktop app, in any app | Third-party keyboard, switched with the globe key | Small button beside your usual keyboard |
| Minimum system | Apple silicon or Intel | Not stated | iOS 17 | Android 10 |
| Deep Context | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
| Realtime Mode (Max) | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
| Where it won't work | Not stated | Not stated | Secure fields and some apps | Password fields |
Sources: Mac, iPhone, Android, Realtime Mode, Deep Context.
The iPhone has one catch. Aqua says the keyboard "opens its app when it needs to start a microphone session." Ben Lovejoy at 9to5Mac, who likes the app, calls this "one unavoidably clunky step," imposed by Apple's security, that takes a second or two, and says it can rule the app out for some disabled users.
Aqua Voice accuracy: who said what
Most reviews repeat Aqua's numbers. Here's where each one comes from, and how much weight it can carry.
| Claim | Who made it | What it measures | What it doesn't tell you |
|---|---|---|---|
| 97.4% against 65.1% for Whisper Large v3, on AISpeak-10 | Aqua, on its own benchmark, August 2025 | Share of clips where one key term came out right, in English technical speech | Overall accuracy. Aqua's own footnote says it isn't that, or a head-to-head between apps |
| #6 overall and #1 proprietary on OpenASR, average word error rate 6.24 | Aqua's October 2025 post, reporting a public leaderboard | Word errors across general speech | Today's rank. Aqua itself words it as "at its October 2025 debut" |
| "5x faster than typing and twice as accurate" | Aqua's home page | No method on the page | Treat it as a slogan until there's a method |
| 230 words a minute, against 40 typing | Aqua's home page demo | "Up to" speed, per its Mac page | Real pace. Lovejoy reports averaging 126 over 352,000 words in 105 days |
| 1 error against Apple Dictation's 17 | Ben Lovejoy, 9to5Mac, August 2025 | One speech opening, read into both on two Macs | One passage, one voice. It's the only independent number we found |
The gap we calculated
Aqua's launch post publishes key-term scores on three sets, though its marketing leads with the first. We added the gap column.
| Set | Avalon | Whisper Large v3 | ElevenLabs Scribe | Avalon's lead over Whisper |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AISpeak-10 | 97.4% | 65.1% | 78.8% | 32.3 points |
| AISpeak-50 | 97.5% | 82.4% | 86.7% | 15.1 points |
| AISpeak-500 | 95.8% | 84.9% | 87.5% | 10.9 points |
Avalon wins every row, on Aqua's numbers. That's a real point in its favor. But the 32-point headline comes from what Aqua calls "a challenging subset." On its largest set, the lead is about a third of that. Three more limits apply:
- It's Aqua's test. Aqua built AISpeak and we found no independent rerun of it.
- It's English. The pages we read give no score for the other 48 languages.
- It's a 2025 result. The app now lists Avalon 1.5, and those pages don't say whether the scores were rerun.
So Owen has fair grounds for optimism: his words are close to what the test measures. Nadia's aren't. A benchmark full of "git checkout" says little about a flooring rep's product codes or a site manager's accent.
Aqua Voice pricing
These are the plans from aquavoice.com/pricing, as of November 2026, in US dollars.
| Plan | Month to month | Billed annually | Per year | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1,000 words in total, Avalon 1.5, Deep Context, MCP and CLI |
| Pro | $12 | $10 | $120 | Unlimited words, custom instructions, personal dictionary |
| Max | $24 | $19 | $228 | Realtime Mode, "Send it" voice command, early access |
| Business | $24 per seat | $19 per seat | $228 per seat | Minimum 2 seats. SSO, SCIM, usage reports, shared dictionaries, zero data retention |
Students with a school email get 70% off Pro and Max, which brings Pro to $3 a month billed annually. No card is needed for Free.
Three things to check before you pay:
- The free plan doesn't refill. Aqua's Wispr Flow comparison calls it "1,000 lifetime words," and its Mac page says that's "about 7 minutes of talking at a normal pace." It's a test drive, not a plan.
- Aqua's own pages disagree on price. The pricing and Mac pages say Pro is $10 billed annually. The Wispr Flow comparison, read the same day, says $8 billed annually and $10 month to month. Lovejoy quoted $96 a year in April 2026, so that page may be out of date. We used the pricing page. Confirm the total at checkout.
- The team threshold is unclear. The plan grid says to contact sales for "more than 20 users," while the FAQ says "100 or more seats."
Max costs $9 a month more than Pro on annual billing, for live words and "Send it" on Mac and Windows. Nobody needs it to start.
Aqua Voice privacy and compliance
Everything you dictate goes through a server. If you say client names or anything confidential, here's what Aqua's pages say:
- It's cloud-based. The Mac page says Aqua "processes audio in the cloud" and "there is no offline mode." The FAQ is softer: cloud dictation needs a connection, and offline availability "varies by platform, app version, and mode." Plan on needing a connection.
- Privacy Mode decides what's kept. The privacy policy, effective October 20, 2026, says that with it off, Aqua may store transcripts "to the extent necessary to improve the product." With it on, transcripts aren't collected, though session metadata such as timestamps and device type may be.
- Deep Context reads your screen. It's the feature behind better spelling. Lovejoy won't grant it on his Mac, and he calls it too big a security risk for him.
- Team controls cost more. Zero data retention is listed on Business, and Aqua's Mac page says team plans add an org-wide Privacy Mode.
- Audits and compliance. Aqua says it has "a SOC 2 Type II audit report and is ISO 27001 certified, and GDPR and HIPAA compliant." Those are Aqua's words. It also tells you to contact it before using Aqua with protected health information, to confirm which plans are covered and discuss BAA terms.
One reliability note: in his early use in 2025, Lovejoy hit connectivity errors and a server outage of about 20 minutes. That's one user, over a year ago, but outages are a risk with any cloud-only tool.
A 1,000-word test plan for Aqua Voice
Since the free words don't come back, spend them on purpose. This plan copies the idea behind Aqua's benchmark, scoring whether the key term came out right, but uses your words instead of Aqua's. It adds up to 1,000 words, so you run it once.
| Step | What to dictate | Words | Pass if |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Write down 20 terms that matter to you: client names, product codes, jargon. Put each in a short spoken sentence, without adding them to anything first | 200 | Count how many of the 20 came out right. That's your own key-term score |
| 2 | A real email with two figures and a date, changing one figure mid-sentence | 200 | Figures are right and the correction sticks |
| 3 | Step 1's hardest 10 terms again, in your noisiest usual place | 100 | Score drops by two terms or fewer |
| 4 | A Slack reply and a long document paragraph | 150 | Each reads right for its app with few fixes |
| 5 | Your phone, in the three apps you use most, including one form | 200 | It works in all three, and the iPhone app-switch doesn't annoy you |
| 6 | A paragraph in your second language, if you have one | 100 | Fewer than three fixes |
| Keep in reserve for a retry | 50 |
Wispr Flow and Superwhisper both have free plans, so you can read the same 20 sentences into each and compare. Then time a normal day's messages. If dictating plus fixing doesn't beat typing, the accuracy score doesn't matter.
To warm up first, our free online dictation tool runs in a browser and doesn't touch your Aqua allowance. Owen's score will probably look different from Nadia's. That's the point.
Aqua Voice vs Wispr Flow
This is the comparison most Aqua Voice shoppers make. Aqua's own page says it plainly: "No test has compared the two apps directly." So nothing below declares an accuracy winner.
| Aqua Voice | Wispr Flow | |
|---|---|---|
| Pro, billed annually | $10 a month | $12 per user a month |
| Pro, month to month | $12 | $15 per user |
| Free plan | 1,000 words in total | "Limited words per week," which refills |
| Languages | 49 | 100+ |
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android |
| Accuracy evidence | Key-term scores on its own benchmark, public leaderboard entry, one independent press test | Word error rates for its Canto model from its own tests, published September 2026 |
| Meetings | Not listed on the pages we read | Notetaker, "Mac and Windows only for now" |
| Student discount | 70% off Pro and Max | 50% off Pro |
Sources: aquavoice.com/pricing and wisprflow.ai/pricing, as of November 2026.
Aqua Voice looks stronger if technical vocabulary is your main problem and you want to pay less. Wispr Flow looks stronger if you need a free plan you can keep using, more languages, or a meeting notetaker at your desk.
Our Wispr Flow review goes deeper on its limits. Wispr's pricing page no longer puts a number on the free cap, so check it before you rely on one.
Aqua Voice alternatives
The right Aqua Voice alternative depends on why you're looking. Prices are as of November 2026.
| Alternative | Pick it if | Price | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wispr Flow | You want a refilling free plan and more languages | Free, or Pro at $15 ($12 annual) | Cloud only |
| Superwhisper | You want dictation that stays on your device | Free with local Whisper models. Pro $8.49, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once | Cleanup, cloud models and file transcription are Pro. Meetings are Mac only |
| Apple Dictation | You're on a Mac or iPhone and want no new app | Built in | Lovejoy's single passage gave it 17 errors against Aqua's 1 |
| Windows voice typing | You're on a PC and only need the basics | Built in, Win + H | Needs online speech recognition |
| ParrotNotes | You need a conversation or debrief turned into a note | Free, or Pro at $19.99 ($14.99 annual) | Doesn't type into your other apps |
Superwhisper's prices come from its plans page. Aqua's own Superwhisper comparison concedes the trade: pick Superwhisper if on-device audio is "non-negotiable" or you need to work offline.
Our Superwhisper vs Wispr Flow guide covers those two head to head, and our roundup of the best dictation app sorts the options by job.
Where Aqua Voice beats ParrotNotes, and where it doesn't
We make one of the apps in this table, so we'll start with what we'd concede.
Aqua Voice is the better choice when:
- You want to type by voice in any app. That's its whole job. ParrotNotes doesn't put text into your Slack box.
- You work on a Windows PC. Aqua has a Windows app. ParrotNotes has iPhone, Android and Mac apps, and a web app on other computers.
- You want a lower price. Pro is $10 or $12 a month with unlimited words. ParrotNotes Pro is $14.99 or $19.99, with 3,000 recording minutes.
- You need published key-term scores. Aqua publishes them, with its own caveats. We don't publish an equivalent.
- Your company's security review asks for named audits. Aqua states SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and HIPAA compliance. ParrotNotes makes no HIPAA claim, and our security page covers encryption and GDPR only.
- You edit by voice or build with a speech API. ParrotNotes doesn't offer a voice keyboard with Edit Mode, or a speech API like Avalon's.
ParrotNotes is the better choice when your speaking isn't writing. Nadia doesn't want text in a box. She wants the site manager's square footage, the install date and the three things she promised, in a form she can send.
You tap record on your phone and talk, or set it on the table while you and a customer talk. Recording keeps going with the screen locked, and no bot joins anything.
When you stop, you get the full transcript, an AI summary, the action items and a drafted follow-up email. Here's how AI meeting notes work without a bot.
| Aqua Voice | ParrotNotes | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Typing by voice into any app | Turning talk into a finished note |
| What you get when you stop | Clean text at your cursor | Transcript, AI summary, action items, follow-up email draft |
| Free plan | 1,000 words in total, about 7 minutes by Aqua's estimate | 100 minutes a month, AI summary on every recording |
| Languages | 49 | 99+ on Pro, with translation |
None of the Aqua pages we read list meeting summaries or translation.
What ParrotNotes costs (parrotnotes.app/pricing, checked November 2, 2026):
- Free: 100 minutes of recording a month, up to 30 minutes each, an AI summary on every recording, 5 AI-powered recordings a month and unlimited written notes. No credit card.
- Pro: $19.99 a month, or $14.99 a month billed annually. 3,000 minutes a month, recordings up to 3 hours, every AI feature, and transcription and translation in 99+ languages.
Nadia now records each walk-through with the phone in her jacket pocket, and has the summary and follow-up drafted before she starts the van. (Still a composite.) If your day sounds more like hers, download ParrotNotes free and record your next conversation.
Aqua Voice review verdict
Aqua Voice has the strongest published evidence we found for one specific thing: getting technical terms right in English. That evidence is mostly its own, and it says so in its footnotes, which is to its credit. The one independent test we found, on a single passage, points the same way.
Its limits are also plain: 1,000 free words that don't come back, no offline mode, a screen-reading feature you have to decide about, and pages that don't agree on the price.
So this Aqua Voice review ends with a test, not a score. Spend the 1,000 words on the plan above. If your score is high and dictating beats typing, Pro at $10 a month is fair.
And if what you need is the conversation itself, captured on your phone and turned into a summary and a follow-up, that's a different tool. Try ParrotNotes free on your next meeting or debrief, and see what comes back.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Aqua Voice free?
Only to try. As of November 2026, the free plan includes 1,000 words with no credit card, and Aqua's comparison page calls that "1,000 lifetime words." Aqua estimates that's about 7 minutes of talking. After that, Pro costs $10 a month billed annually, or $12 month to month.
How much does Aqua Voice cost?
As of November 2026, Aqua's pricing page lists Pro at $10 a month billed annually or $12 month to month, Max at $19 or $24, and Business at $19 or $24 per seat with a 2-seat minimum. Students get 70% off Pro and Max. One Aqua comparison page still shows $8 and $10, so confirm the price at checkout.
How accurate is Aqua Voice?
Aqua reports 97.4% on AISpeak-10, its own English benchmark, against 65.1% for Whisper Large v3. That measures whether one key term came out right, not overall accuracy, and Aqua says so. On its largest set the score is 95.8% against 84.9%. Independently, 9to5Mac's Ben Lovejoy counted 1 error against Apple Dictation's 17 on one passage. No test has compared it directly with Wispr Flow.
Does Aqua Voice work offline?
Plan on no. Aqua's Mac page says "there is no offline mode" because the Avalon model runs in the cloud. Its FAQ says cloud dictation needs a connection and that offline availability varies by platform, app version and mode. If you need offline dictation, look at Superwhisper's local models.
Is Aqua Voice better than Wispr Flow?
It depends on the job, and no direct test exists. Aqua Voice is cheaper and has published scores on technical terms. Wispr Flow has a free plan that refills weekly, 100+ languages against Aqua's 49, and a Notetaker for meetings on Mac and Windows. Try both on your own words.
What is a good alternative to Aqua Voice?
For a refilling free plan, try Wispr Flow. For dictation that stays on your device, try Superwhisper. For no new app, use the dictation built into your phone or computer. To turn spoken notes and in-person conversations into a summary and action items, ParrotNotes has a free plan with an AI summary on every recording.
Related Posts

What Is a Byline? Meaning, Examples and Who Gets One
The meaning of byline explained with examples: byline vs dateline, who gets one under AP and NPR rules, plus a freelancer credit email to copy. Learn more.

SDR vs BDR: What Each Role Does and Why Companies Mix Them Up
SDR vs BDR compared: what each role does, the pay employers state and why titles get mixed up, from 154 live job ads. Try ParrotNotes free for hand-off notes.

Sales Email Subject Lines: Examples by Situation and What to Avoid
Sales email subject lines for every situation: 40 short examples, what to avoid, and a five-question check. Build yours from your meeting notes. Try it free.