Voicenotes App Review and Alternatives

Sarah Johnson
Writes about field sales, meeting notes and voice-first workflows at ParrotNotes. Every article is reviewed by the ParrotNotes product team before it goes live.

Table of Contents
Nadia and Tom typed "voicenotes app" into the same search box on the same morning and meant two different things. Nadia, a freelance writer in Portland, had seen a friend dictate a newsletter draft on a walk and wanted the app she used. Tom sells commercial HVAC service contracts in Ohio; he wanted any voice notes app that would turn a 40-minute plant-room conversation into a summary before the next stop. (Both are composites, not real people.)
This Voicenotes app review is written for both of them. Voicenotes (voicenotes.com) is a specific product: an AI note app from the founders of Buy Me a Coffee that records your voice, transcribes it, summarizes it and lets you ask an AI about everything you have ever said into it. "Voice notes app" is also the generic thing Tom wanted. We cover the product first, from its own home page, pricing page, help center and App Store listing as they read on October 14, 2026, then the alternatives for readers whose notes come out of meetings rather than monologues.
A disclosure before we start: ParrotNotes publishes this blog, and ParrotNotes is our app. It leads the alternatives section for readers like Tom. If that is you, try ParrotNotes free and come back for the Voicenotes facts.
Voicenotes app review in short
Voicenotes fits you if most of what you record is your own thinking (ideas, drafts, journal entries, reminders), you want an AI that remembers all of it and answers questions across your notes, and you like having the same app on your phone, laptop, watch and browser. For that reader it's one of the more complete voice-first note tools we've looked at.
Look at the alternatives if your recordings are mostly conversations with other people, you need action items and sales frameworks pulled out of every meeting, or you want a transcript translated into another language. Voicenotes now sells itself as a meeting tool too, and it can record a meeting in the room, but the meeting side is the newer, thinner half of the product.
What Voicenotes is and what it does
Voicenotes launched in 2024. TechCrunch's launch story describes it as an app from Buy Me a Coffee founder Jijo Sunny with an AI assistant "that lets you ask questions of your past notes." The App Store lists the developer as Coping Hard Inc, with a rating of 4.8 out of 5 from about 7,100 ratings as of October 14, 2026 (App Store listing).
Two years on, the product has two halves.
The memo half is the original idea. You tap record and talk. Voicenotes transcribes the recording, writes a title and a summary, and files it. From there you can:
- Ask AI: the home page calls it "Just Ask. AI Remembers." You ask a question and the AI answers from everything you've recorded, so "what did I decide about the pricing page in August?" works even if you never tagged anything.
- Create: turn one or several notes into a new piece of content, such as a to-do list, bullet points, an email or a blog draft. The help center calls this the Create feature.
- Dictation: speak into any text field instead of typing. It's a Pro feature with a one-time trial on the free plan, and the Android keyboard was still marked "upcoming" in the June 2026 help article (how to use Voicenotes on Android).
The meeting half is newer. The home page now says Voicenotes "works with all meeting apps without a bot" and that recording "works for online as well as in-person meetings." The Android help article explains the mechanism: the app detects whether a recording is a Memo or a Meeting on its own. A single speaker gets a transcript and summary; several speakers get speaker detection, a meeting report with key points and follow-up actions, and a transcript organized by speaker.
Around both halves sit integrations (Notion, Todoist, Readwise, Zapier, a WhatsApp bot, and on Pro an MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT), a privacy line ("Nothing joins your call, nothing trains on your data") and a long platform list: macOS, iOS, Windows, Android, web, Apple Watch, Wear OS and a Chrome extension.
If what you want is a cleaner memo rather than a longer feature list, our guide to speech to text notes covers how to talk so the transcript comes back usable.
What Voicenotes costs
All prices from voicenotes.com/pricing and the help center's pricing and billing article, read on October 14, 2026.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | $0 | Unlimited recordings; 100 transcription minutes a week shared across memos, meetings and dictation; 30-day visible history |
| Pro | $9 per user per month | Unlimited transcription and summaries; live transcription and real-time notes; unlimited dictation; unlimited history; unlimited audio imports and storage; Zapier, Notion, Obsidian, Claude and ChatGPT integrations; Voicenotes MCP |
| Enterprise | $24 per user per month | Everything in Pro plus SSO and SCIM, consent management, admin sharing controls, custom CRM and dialer integrations, a success manager and "zero model training on your data" |
Three details decide whether Basic is enough:
- The 100 minutes are weekly, not monthly, and they cover transcription, not recording. The help center says recording continues past the limit and the raw audio is saved; it's transcribed when the minutes refresh the next week. "Nothing is lost," in Voicenotes' words, but nothing is readable until then either.
- History hides after 30 days on Basic. Older notes are stored, not deleted, and reappear when you upgrade.
- No annual price is published. The web price is $9 a month, billed monthly. The App Store listing shows in-app purchase items at $14.99 a month and $89.99 or $99.99 a year, which don't match the web price, so check the price inside whichever store you buy from.
Teams of three or more are asked to book a demo; no team price is listed.
What Voicenotes' own pages say, side by side
The pages that rank for this search are mostly Voicenotes' own, and they don't quite agree with each other. Here are the same facts from four sources on one day, so you can see the gaps before you sign up.
| Claim | Home page | Pricing page | Help center | App Store |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Languages | "60+ languages with automatic detection" | "100+ languages" (Basic row); FAQ says English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian "and 60+ other" | Not stated | "100+ languages" |
| Bot-free meeting capture | Yes, "without a bot", online and in person | Not described | Memo vs Meeting auto-detected, speaker detection on meetings | "Meetings" in the app name |
| Free plan | "Start for free" | 100 weekly minutes, 30-day history | Same, plus how overflow recordings are held | Not stated |
| Pro price | Not shown | $9 per user per month | $9 per user per month, monthly billing | $14.99 monthly, $89.99 or $99.99 annual in-app items |
| Dictation | Listed as a feature | Pro | Pro, with a one-time trial on Basic; Android keyboard upcoming (June 2026) | Mentioned in version notes |
| Privacy | "Never used to train AI", SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | "Zero model training" named only on Enterprise | Not covered | Not covered |
None of these differences is a reason to avoid the app. They're a reason to read the pricing FAQ before you count on 100 languages, and to buy on the web if the $9 price matters to you.
Where Voicenotes does well
Credit where it's due, by Voicenotes' own account.
- Memory across notes. Ask AI is the feature people come for. A year of walks becomes a searchable archive, not a list of files.
- Nothing to decide before you record. Memo-or-Meeting detection means one button for both jobs. For Nadia, who records 15 short thoughts a day, not choosing is the point.
- A device for every pocket. Phone, watch, laptop, browser extension. The watch app suits people who want to capture a thought without taking a phone out.
- Audio is kept when minutes run out. You never lose a recording for hitting the cap; you wait for it.
- A clear privacy line. The home page says notes are never used to train AI and names SOC 2 Type II and GDPR. Those are Voicenotes' claims, stated plainly; we haven't audited them.
If Nadia's week looks like yours, Voicenotes is a strong pick, and the free plan will tell you quickly whether 100 minutes a week is enough.
The fit test: memo tool or meeting tool?
Eight questions. Count your answers.
- Is most of what you record your own voice, alone? (Memo)
- Or is it a conversation with at least one other person? (Meeting)
- Do you need the summary to list who owes what by when? (Meeting)
- Do you ever need the transcript in a language other than the one spoken? (Meeting)
- Do you sell, and want a BANT, MEDDIC or SPIN view of the conversation afterwards? (Meeting)
- Do you record in places with no signal, such as plant rooms or basements? (Meeting)
- Do you mostly want to ask one AI about years of your own thinking? (Memo)
- Do you want the same app on a watch and in a browser extension? (Memo)
Mostly Memo: start with Voicenotes' free plan. Mostly Meeting: read on. Tom scored six Meeting answers out of eight, and Nadia scored two.
Voicenotes alternatives
Every number below was checked on the vendor's own page on October 14, 2026. Where a page didn't state something, we say so.
1. ParrotNotes: for conversations, not only thoughts
ParrotNotes is built around the recording you make in a room with another person: a customer visit, a site walk, an interview, a one-on-one. Like Voicenotes, it records on the phone you already carry with no bot joining anything. The difference is what happens afterwards.
Every recording gets an AI summary, on the free plan too. On your AI-powered recordings you also get action items with owners, key points, a follow-up email draft and the sales frameworks (BANT, MEDDIC, SPIN) laid over the conversation, so Tom's 40 minutes in the plant room come back as a qualification sheet, not a transcript to read. You can ask questions about any recording, and on Pro, AI search finds the answer across all your notes.
| ParrotNotes | Voicenotes | |
|---|---|---|
| Records in-person meetings without a bot | Yes | Yes |
| AI summary on every recording on the free plan | Yes | Yes, within 100 transcription minutes a week |
| Action items and sales frameworks (BANT, MEDDIC, SPIN) from a conversation | Yes | Follow-up actions on meeting reports; no sales frameworks on its pages |
| Transcript translated into another language | Yes, 99+ languages with translation on Pro | Not stated on its pages |
| Recording works offline | Yes; transcription runs when you reconnect | Not stated on its pages |
Sources: parrotnotes.app/pricing, voicenotes.com, voicenotes.com/pricing and the Voicenotes help center, all read on October 14, 2026.
What it costs. Free: 100 minutes of recording a month, an AI summary on every recording, 5 AI-powered recordings a month and unlimited written notes. Pro: $19.99 a month, or $14.99 a month billed annually, for 3,000 minutes a month, recordings up to 3 hours, all AI features on every recording, 99+ languages with translation and code-switching, speaker identification, AI search and docx and PDF export. iOS, Android and macOS. Recording works offline; transcription and AI need a connection.
Who it suits. Tom, and anyone whose notes come out of other people's mouths. For apps that handle hour-long recordings, see our comparison of the best voice to text app for long recordings.
Ready to see what a site conversation looks like as a summary and action list? Download ParrotNotes free and record your next meeting with everyone's consent.
2. Otter.ai: for online meetings on a schedule
Otter is the established meeting note taker, built for calendar-linked online meetings on Zoom, Teams and Meet, with a mobile app that also records in person. As of October 14, 2026, its pricing page lists Basic as free with 300 transcription minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation; Pro at $16.99 per user per month, or $8.33 per user per month billed annually, with 1,200 minutes a month and 90 minutes per conversation; and Business at $30 per user per month, or $19.99 annual, with 4 hours per conversation. Otter states AI transcription in six languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese.
Who it suits. Teams whose meetings live in a calendar and a video app. For solo memos it's more tool than you need, and the six-language list is the first thing to check if you work in another language.
3. Apple Voice Memos: the free recorder already on your iPhone
To find out whether you even need a voice notes app, start with the one you own. Apple's iOS 27 guide to viewing a Voice Memos transcription says transcription "is available on iPhone 12 or later" in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese and Traditional Chinese, and "not available in all countries or regions." You can copy the transcript, search within transcripts, and on an iPhone 15 Pro or iPhone 16 or later use Apple Intelligence Writing Tools to summarize it.
Who it suits. Anyone who wants a transcript of a quick memo and nothing more. There's no Ask AI, no meeting report and no action items; when you outgrow it, share the memo into another app. Our guides to audio notes on iPhone and voice memo to text walk through both routes, and the free audio to text tool transcribes an existing file in the browser.
4. Wispr Flow: for typing by voice, not keeping notes
Wispr Flow is dictation rather than note-keeping: you speak into any text box and clean, punctuated text appears. On October 14, 2026 its pricing page lists Free at $0 with speech to text in any app in 100+ languages and a weekly cap of 2,000 words on desktop and 1,000 on mobile, and Pro at $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually, with unlimited dictations. Dictation runs on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android; the Notetaker is Mac and Windows only.
Who it suits. People drawn to Voicenotes' dictation feature more than its notes. If that's the whole job, see our roundup of the best dictation app by job.
5. AudioPen: for rambles rewritten into clean text
AudioPen sits closest to Voicenotes' memo half. It "transcribes what you said, then rewrites it in your style," with a rewrite level (Low, Medium, High), built-in styles such as Simple and clear, Formal, Email and Bullet points, and custom styles. On October 14, 2026 the free plan allows recordings up to three minutes each; Prime costs $33 for three months, $99 for a year (about $8.25 a month) or $159 for two years, and raises the recording limit to 15 minutes with unlimited notes, voice typing and audio uploads. It runs on the web, Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch and Chrome.
Who it suits. Writers who want the ramble turned into a paragraph rather than kept as a transcript. The 3-minute and 15-minute limits make it a thinking tool, not a meeting tool.
Verdict
Voicenotes is a good app for the job it started with: capturing your own thoughts by voice and asking one AI about all of them later. The free plan is honest about its limits, the platform list is long and the privacy line is clear. Read its pricing FAQ before you count on 100 languages, and buy on the web if the $9 price is why you chose it.
For the other reader of "voicenotes app", the one whose recordings are conversations, the meeting side of Voicenotes is real but new. If you need action items with owners, a sales framework on the call or a transcript in another language, ParrotNotes does that from the first free recording, with an AI summary on every one. Tom recorded his next three site visits on the free plan and sent the follow-up emails from the parking lot. Nadia kept Voicenotes. Both chose well, because they answered the fit test first.
Download ParrotNotes free and run the test on your next real conversation.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Voicenotes app?
Voicenotes (voicenotes.com) is an AI note app from the founders of Buy Me a Coffee. You record your voice, it transcribes and summarizes the recording, and Ask AI answers questions across everything you've recorded. Multi-speaker recordings are detected as meetings and get a meeting report with speaker labels.
Is Voicenotes free?
Yes, there is a free Basic plan. On October 14, 2026 it included unlimited recordings, 100 transcription minutes a week shared across memos, meetings and dictation, and 30 days of visible history. Recordings made after the weekly minutes run out are saved and transcribed when the minutes refresh.
How much does Voicenotes Pro cost?
The pricing page lists Pro at $9 per user per month, billed monthly, with unlimited transcription, dictation, history and audio imports. No annual price is published on the web. The App Store listing shows different in-app purchase amounts, so check the price in the store you buy from.
Does Voicenotes record meetings without a bot?
Yes. Its home page says it works with all meeting apps without a bot and for in-person meetings, and the help center explains that a multi-speaker recording is detected as a meeting and gets speaker detection, key points and follow-up actions. For sales frameworks or translated transcripts you need a different tool.
What is the best alternative to Voicenotes?
It depends on what you record. For conversations and meetings in a room, ParrotNotes gives you a summary on every recording plus action items, sales frameworks and 99+ languages with translation on Pro. For online meetings on a calendar, Otter. For quick memos, Apple Voice Memos. For dictation into any app, Wispr Flow. For rambles rewritten into clean prose, AudioPen.
Related Posts

Semi-Structured Interview in Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide
Semi-structured interview in qualitative research explained: a one-page guide template, a probe bank, consent and recording tips, memoing. Try ParrotNotes free.

Sales Storytelling: How to Tell a Customer Story That Sells
Sales storytelling for meetings: a four-part customer story template, when to tell it (discovery, demo, objection) and a story bank log. Try ParrotNotes free.

Safety Committee Meeting Minutes Template
A safety committee meeting minutes template with a hazard log, owners and due dates, a filled sample and the rules that keep it useful. Try ParrotNotes free.