Blog••Comparisons

Trint Transcription: Features, Pricing and the Alternatives

Sarah Johnson

Sarah Johnson

Writes about field sales, meeting notes and voice-first workflows at ParrotNotes. Every article is reviewed by the ParrotNotes product team before it goes live.

Trint Transcription: Features, Pricing and the Alternatives

Hannah runs a four-person news desk at a regional paper. Her reporters file from council meetings, press conferences and Zoom interviews, and she wants every transcript in one shared place where an editor can check a quote before it runs. Diego is a freelance reporter. His interviews happen in kitchens, on building sites and in cafés, recorded on his phone, and his budget is whatever the last invoice paid. (Hannah and Diego are composites, not real people.)

Both of them have searched for "Trint". It's built for one of them.

This review is built from Trint's own pages: its plans page, its homepage and product pages, and its help center, all read on October 17, 2026. It covers what Trint does, what it costs, which languages it handles, how the apps work and what the free trial really includes. We make ParrotNotes, a phone-first note taker, so we have an interest. That's why every Trint fact below links to Trint's page, and why the comparison sits in one section near the end.

If your interviews and meetings happen in person, you can try ParrotNotes free while you read and compare for yourself.

Trint in short

Trint is an AI transcription platform for media teams. You upload audio or video (or transcribe live), get a timed transcript, fix it in a browser editor, then search, highlight, share, translate, summarize and caption it. The newsroom features are the point: shared drives, live transcripts colleagues can follow from another room, and integrations with newsroom systems such as AP ENPS and Octopus.

It's priced like a newsroom tool, too. There is no free plan. Individual Pro seats are $100 a month, or $79 a month billed annually, and a 7-day trial covers three files.

Verdict: a strong choice for a desk that edits and shares transcripts together. Expensive for one person, and more than you need if your work is capturing conversations on your phone and reading a summary afterward.

What Trint does

Trint's technology page and plans page describe five jobs:

  1. Transcribe files. Upload MP3, MP4, M4A, AAC, WMA, AVI, WAV or MOV files. Trint adds time codes, speaker detection and a custom dictionary for names and jargon.
  2. Edit and verify. The transcript stays linked to the audio, so you click a line, hear it and correct it. Trint says you can "review, edit, search and share" transcripts like any cloud document.
  3. Transcribe live. Trint Live transcribes as it happens from the desktop or mobile app, and colleagues can follow the transcript in real time.
  4. Summarize, translate and caption. Every plan lists AI summaries, translation into "70+ languages" and a Caption Editor for video subtitles.
  5. Share and integrate. Team plans add shared drives and realtime editing. Business plans add newsroom integrations (ENPS, Mimir, LiveU, Octopus), an API, SSO and SCIM.

The homepage also mentions an MCP connector. If you're new to the editing side of the job, our guide on how to transcribe an interview covers the quote-checking habits that apply whatever tool you pick.

Trint pricing in 2026

Trint's plans page lists three plans. Third-party articles still quote older plan names and approximate prices, so here is what the page says today.

PlanWho it's forBilled monthlyBilled annuallyLive transcription
Pro"For individuals only"$100 per seat a month$79 per seat a month ($948 a year)1 hour a month
Team"For 2-5 team members"$90 per seat a month$69 per seat a month ($828 a year)1 hour per seat a month
Business"Teams of all sizes"CustomCustomAdvanced Live

Source: app.trint.com/plans, checked October 17, 2026.

Every plan includes "Unlimited audio and video transcriptions in 50+ languages", unlimited translation, AI summaries and the Caption Editor. Team adds shared drives and realtime editing for up to five people. Business adds unlimited accounts and guests, automatic language recognition, a dedicated EU-based server, onboarding and admin tools.

What a year of Trint costs

Worked from the prices above:

WhoMonthly billing for 12 monthsAnnual billing
Diego, one reporter (Pro)$1,200$948
Hannah's desk, four seats (Team)$4,320$3,312

Annual billing saves $252 per seat. That's real money, but it also means committing for a year before you know whether the tool fits.

"Unlimited" means fair use

The plans page FAQ explains that unlimited transcription "applies to day-to-day usage" with a fair use cap you'll "almost never hit". It also says: "Archival projects, continuous live transcription and bulk volume transcription projects aren't included." If you're planning to digitize an oral history archive, talk to Trint first.

If you cancel, Trint offers a "Paused plan" that keeps your transcripts.

The free trial

Trint has no free plan. Its help center describes a 7-day free trial: you can upload "3 audio or videos files", and "the first 5 minutes of the 3 files will be transcribed". On the eighth day, the trial ends automatically unless you subscribe.

Fifteen minutes of transcript is enough to judge the editor. It isn't enough to test a full hour-long interview, so pick your three files carefully: one clean, one noisy, one with several speakers.

Trint languages: 30+, 40+, 50+ or 70+?

Trint's pages give different numbers depending on the feature and the page. Here's the full picture.

FeatureWhat Trint saysWhere
Transcribing uploaded files"50+ languages"Plans page, mobile app article
Transcribing uploaded files"40+ languages"Technology page, newsrooms page
Live transcription"50+ languages"Homepage
Live transcription"40+ languages"Mobile app article
Live transcription"one of 30+ languages"Trint Live article
Translation"70+ languages"Plans page, homepage
Several languages in one recordingAutomatic Language Recognition on Business onlyPlans page

Checked October 17, 2026.

The likely reading: uploads cover the most languages, live transcription fewer, and the live count depends on which page was updated last. Live transcription also asks you to choose one language before you start, and the Trint Live help article says automatic multi-language detection is for custom plans. If you work outside English, test your language in the trial with the feature you'll actually use.

Trint apps: web, desktop and mobile

AppWhat it doesWorks offline?
Web appUpload, edit, share, translate, summarizeRuns in the browser
Desktop (Mac and Windows)Everything the web app does, plus Trint Live from anything on screen, a meeting, the mic or the camera"Not available offline"
Mobile (iOS and Android)Record from the phone's mic or upload files; Trint Live; read your transcripts"Not available offline"

Sources: Trint's desktop app and mobile app help articles, checked October 17, 2026.

Three details from the help center matter if you work in the field:

  • Connection. Both apps require "an internet connection at all times." A basement courtroom or a rural site with no signal is a problem.
  • iOS version. The mobile app needs iOS 17.6 or later.
  • Live on mobile. The mobile article says Trint Live on mobile is for "Enterprise and Advanced plans", while the plans page gives Pro and Team one hour of live transcription a month. The help center uses older plan names; go by the plans page.

Accuracy, security and privacy

Accuracy. Trint claims "up to 99% accuracy" "with good audio and clear speech." That's a best case from the vendor, and it says nothing about crosstalk or a noisy room. Even at 99%, a 6,000-word interview could hold around 60 wrong words. Check every quote against the audio before it runs; the linked editor makes that quick.

Security. The homepage cites "ISO 27001 and Cyber Essentials certifications" and offers data storage "in either the EU or US". Business plans add a dedicated EU-based server.

Training. The homepage states: "We never train our algorithms on your transcripts."

Consent. Whatever tool you use, ask before you record. Some US states require every party's consent; our overview of one-party consent states explains the rules. This isn't legal advice.

What Trint's own pages say, side by side

QuestionPlans pageHelp centerProduct pages
Plan namesPro, Team, BusinessAdvanced, EnterpriseNot stated
Transcription languages50+50+ (uploads), 40+ or 30+ (live)40+ or 50+
Free option"Start free trial"7 days, 3 files, first 5 minutes eachNot stated
Live transcription1 hour a month (Pro), per seat (Team)Advanced and Enterprise; 3-hour maximumLive on desktop and mobile
OfflineNot stated"Not available offline"Not stated
AccuracyNot statedNot stated"Up to 99%" with good audio

All Trint pages checked October 17, 2026.

None of these differences is a red flag on its own. They tell you that the plans page is the current source for what you buy, and the help center is where the limits are.

Where Trint is strong

Trint earns its place in newsrooms for good reasons:

  • Shared verification. An editor can open the same transcript, click the quote and hear it. For a desk, that's the whole job.
  • Live transcription for the room next door. A producer can follow a press conference transcript while the reporter is still in it.
  • Newsroom plumbing. ENPS, Octopus, Mimir and LiveU integrations, SSO and an API matter to a broadcaster and to nobody else.
  • Translation and captions in one place. Translation into 70+ languages and subtitles from the same transcript save a second tool.
  • A clear privacy line. No training on your transcripts, and a choice of EU or US storage.

The Washington Post is the customer Trint names on its newsrooms page, and that's the profile: a team producing stories from recorded media every day.

The Trint fit test: 8 questions

Answer yes or no:

  1. Do several people need to edit or check the same transcripts?
  2. Do you transcribe recordings every working day?
  3. Do you publish video that needs captions?
  4. Does a producer need to follow a live transcript from another room?
  5. Do you use a newsroom system such as ENPS or Octopus?
  6. Is $79 to $100 a month per person inside your budget?
  7. Do you always have a connection where you record?
  8. Is a full transcript, rather than a summary, the thing you need?

Six or more yes answers: Trint is built for you. Start the trial with your three hardest files.

Three or fewer: you're paying for newsroom features you won't use. Look at the alternatives below.

Hannah answers yes to seven. Diego answers yes to two.

Trint alternatives

Which alternative fits depends on where your audio comes from.

If you capture conversations on your phone: ParrotNotes

ParrotNotes is a note taker for conversations that happen in the room. You open the app on your phone, tap record, put the phone on the table, and get a transcript and a summary when you're done. There's no bot to invite and nothing to set up first.

TrintParrotNotes
Built forNewsroom teams editing transcripts togetherOne person capturing conversations in the room
Free planNone (7-day trial, 3 files)Yes, with an AI summary on every recording
Price for one person$100 a month, or $79 billed annually$19.99 a month, or $14.99 billed annually
Transcription languages30+ to 50+, depending on page and feature99+ with translation (Pro)
Recording without a signalApps need "an internet connection at all times"Records offline; transcribes when you're back online

Trint facts from app.trint.com/plans and Trint's help center; ParrotNotes facts from parrotnotes.app/pricing. Checked October 17, 2026.

ParrotNotes Free costs nothing and includes 100 minutes of recording a month, an automatic summary on every recording, 5 AI-powered recordings a month (summaries, insights, action items and chat all work on those) and unlimited written notes. Pro is $19.99 a month, or $14.99 a month billed annually, with 3,000 minutes a month, recordings up to 3 hours, every AI feature on every recording, speaker identification, multilingual transcription with translation in 99+ languages, AI search across your notes, and docx and PDF export.

Diego's week on it: each interview recorded on his phone, even in the basement café with no bars, then transcribed once he's back above ground. He reads the summary on the bus, finds the quote with AI search and pastes it into his draft. His interviews in Spanish get a Spanish transcript and an English translation on Pro. Already have a file from another recorder? Our free audio to text tool takes an upload.

Run Diego's test. Download ParrotNotes free, record your next in-person interview with the other person's OK, and read the summary before you've left the building.

The verdict of this Trint review

Trint is a well-built transcription platform for media teams. Its strengths are shared editing, live transcripts a colleague can follow, translation, captions and newsroom integrations, backed by ISO 27001 and a promise not to train on your transcripts. Its costs are on its own plans page: no free plan, $100 a month for one person (or $79 billed annually), a trial of three files and five minutes each, and apps that need a connection at all times.

So decide by the job. If you're Hannah, running a desk that checks quotes together every day, start the Trint trial. If you're Diego, capturing interviews and meetings on the phone in your pocket, get ParrotNotes free and see the difference on your next conversation.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Trint cost?

Trint's plans page, checked October 17, 2026, lists Pro for individuals at $100 per seat a month, or $79 a month billed annually. Team, for 2 to 5 people, is $90 per seat a month, or $69 billed annually. Business is custom priced. There is no free plan.

Does Trint have a free trial?

Yes. Trint's help center describes a 7-day free trial in which you can upload 3 files, and the first 5 minutes of each file is transcribed. The trial ends automatically on the eighth day unless you subscribe.

How many languages does Trint support?

The plans page lists transcription in 50+ languages and translation in 70+. Other Trint pages say 40+ for transcription, and the Trint Live help article says live transcription works in one of 30+ languages. Test your language with the feature you plan to use.

Does Trint have a mobile app?

Yes. Trint has iOS and Android apps that record from the phone's microphone, upload files and run Trint Live. The help center says the app needs iOS 17.6 or later and an internet connection at all times.

What is a good alternative to Trint?

It depends on your audio. Otter suits video calls and Descript suits editing audio and video. For in-person interviews and meetings captured on a phone, ParrotNotes has a free plan with an AI summary on every recording and Pro transcription in 99+ languages.